Election Day

Vox populi, vox dei!

Today is the general election day in Israel. This is an exciting day. For me election is about participation much more than it is about influence and I try not to miss it.  This is why I regard the influence-based arguments for “why it is irrational to vote,” as unconvincing, and even a little silly. Influence vs participation was also the basis for my poll on “would you decide the election if you could.” I voted ‘no’ but about two-thirds of the participants voted yes. Four years ago I brought on this day the nice story of Achnai’s oven.

This entry was posted in Rationality, Updates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Election Day

  1. Dom says:

    Gil, any chance you are willing to elaborate on the Influence vs participation issue? I would love to hear why you regard the influence-based arguments for as unconvincing.

Leave a Reply

