Test Your Intuition (or knowledge, or programming skills) 36

How much is

 

The product ranges over all primes. In other words,

Just heard it from Avinoam Mann.

 

This entry was posted in Number theory, Test your intuition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Test Your Intuition (or knowledge, or programming skills) 36

  1. Well, it is 2,5. But how do you prove that? Would be awesome to see an argument for that 😀

  2. Omri Solan says:

    I thought to write 2. But then I read I am allowed to think, so I noticed this look like zeta product and got zeta(2)^2/zeta(4) which if i am not wrong gives 8/3

  3. David Galvin says:

    What a surprise! I’m not a programmer, but I was quickly able to get Mathematica to tell my the product up to the 10,000th prime, and it’s pretty clear what the answer will be in the limit. Now to figure out why…

  4. Pingback: An infinite product challenge – Dinezh.com

  5. Pingback: Futureseek Daily Link Review; 06 March 2019 | Futureseek Link Digest

  6. Jan Grabowski says:

    Gil, could you please email me? Thanks, Jan Grabowski (Lancaster)

  7. Gil Kalai says:

    Yes, sure, sorry for the delay, Jan. See you soon, best –Gil

  8. Pingback: Un desafío de producto infinito. – Down.co.ve

  9. Pingback: Un desafío de producto infinito. – stips

  10. Pingback: An infinite product challenge

Leave a comment