Test Your Intuition (34): Tiling high dimensional spaces with two-dimensional tiles.

A tile T is a finite subset of \mathbb Z^d. We can ask if \mathbb Z^d can or cannot be partitioned into copies of T. If  \mathbb Z^d can be partitioned into copies of T we say that T tiles \mathbb Z^d.

Here is a simpe example. Let T consists of 24 points of the 5 by 5 planar grid minus the center point. T cannot tile \mathbb Z^2.

Test your intuition: Does T tiles \mathbb Z^d for some d>2?

If you prefer you can think about the simpler case of T_0 consisting of eight points: the 3 by 3 grid minus the center.

I forgot to add polls…

This entry was posted in Combinatorics, Test your intuition and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Test Your Intuition (34): Tiling high dimensional spaces with two-dimensional tiles.

  1. I can see T_0 tiling Z^3. My intuition says T cannot do it. We’ll see 🙂

  2. Jineon Baek says:

    I really want to do a ‘weighted vote’, like, 70% yes and 30% no. Think I will wait and observe the problem till the intuition shapes into something…

  3. bjonas says:

    This isn’t for my intuition, because I remember this question from MathOverflow. It’s a really good one. SPOILER: https://mathoverflow.net/q/49915/

  4. Pingback: Testing *My* Intuition (34): Tiling High Dimension with an Arbitrary Low-Dimensional Tile. | Combinatorics and more

  5. Pingback: Giải Thuật Lập Trình · Theory News 03-04/2018

Leave a comment